Posted on

Awesome Stuff of the Week

 

Being a woman, I have been known to adorn my face with the beautifying products known as makeup.

 

Wait a sec… I am a woman. I am female. [Fe] + Male = Iron Male OMG I AM IRON MAN!!!! Where’s Jarvis?! Why isn’t he writing this for me??? Sorry. I digress. Where was I? Oh yes, makeup.

 

As it turns out, my face is sort of special needs when it comes to cosmetics. Lupus has this God awful way of causing all kinds of rashes and dermatitis and red spots and drama. About 4 or 5 years ago, when the skin symptoms really started making an appearance, I set out on a sort of quest to find makeup that wouldn’t aggravate my skin, but still offered coverage. Good gravy, I had no idea it would be such a painful process – and I do mean that both figuratively and literally.

 

I tried all kinds of things, from liquids to powders to creams and back again. My face went from breakouts to blisters and rashes and I was pretty much convinced I would just have to go around bare-faced for the rest of my life.

 

Enter Colorevolution. It’s a mineral makeup company that actually creates spoonie-friendly makeup. Not that that’s what they set out to do. Turns out that they just create makeup that is made from actual minerals, without gunk and fillers. (I found out the hard way that most mineral makeup companies – even the big name infomercial ones – use a heck of a lot more than real minerals in their products. Hello, rash)

 

At any rate, I have no intention of ever going back. Not only is this stuff easier on my skin than everything else I’ve tried, it costs a whole lot less than you’d think. Check out their website for specials, but honestly even at regular price I think it’s more than fair. Plus, they make eye shadows and lip glosses in a zillion colors, and have makeup for just about every skin tone. Even Latinas who are far paler than they should be.

 

Oh, and if you’re worried about coverage, I think it’s worth mentioning that this is the official makeup being used on Rupaul’s Drag Race. And if it’s good enough for those ladies…

 

As usual, I am not affiliated with or getting anything from the awesome stuff of the week products.

2 responses to “Awesome Stuff of the Week

  1. Must Have Boxes ⋅

    This products sound amazing!

    – KW
    http://musthaveboxes.com

Leave a Reply

