Posted on

Kids, Legos and Leftovers

 

When my mom passed away years ago, leaving me to raise my much younger brother and sister, I learned a few essentials pretty quick. For example:

 

Stepping on a Lego causes a sensation akin to stomping on a rusty bear trap. In a field of rosebushes. Barefoot.

 

Little boys will put anything and everything in their pockets. Seriously, I’ve found money, mud, bugs, candy toy soldiers and various unidentifiable objects shriveled up sadly on the bottom of my washing machine over the years.

 

Hell hath no fury like a little girl catching you throwing something away. No matter how old, broken or outgrown, it’s THEIRS and tossing it is a personal attack. I’ve smuggled broken pencils and headless Barbies out of the house like a Columbian drug lord. And perhaps the most important lesson of all…

 

Families are expensive.

 

Like, really expensive. Food, shelter, clothing, utilities, karate lessons, dance class, track meets… it all adds up pretty quick. Next thing you know, you’re Ebaying the ever loving heck out of your closet and garage, trying to drum up money for a prom dress, skate shoes or groceries to keep a 16 year old boy fed. (You’d be surprised. They can put it away.) Now don’t get me wrong – I wouldn’t give back a single moment for all the jewels in the crown. They’ve brought more meaning to my life than I ever thought possible, and I’d give anything to make them tiny again. But still, in the still moments of the night, I can almost hear the forlorn sobs of my distraught wallet; weeping alone in the darkest corner of my closet.

 

That’s why I love getting to write for websites like Smart Living by Fingerhut. The whole site is full of awesome, money saving tips and tricks. It’s all about making more of what you have, and that’s something anyone with a family can appreciate. Like this article, about creative ideas for Thanksgiving leftovers. Which, incidentally, works really well with leftover weeknight chicken, turkey, or pork, too.

 

So what’s your favorite money saving family tip?

One response to “Kids, Legos and Leftovers

  1. Madryt

    You completed certain nice points there. I did a search on the theme and found nearly all people will go along with with your blog.

Leave a Reply

