Posted on

Writers Write!

 

Writers write!

When I first set my stubborn Cuban-bred mind to become a wordsmith, that was my mantra. I sat down at my clunky old computer one fine afternoon and decided that I was going to do it — finally!– I was going to follow my passion and disregard every well-meaning piece of advice I’ve ever gotten. I was hereby a writer, dangit, and writers WRITE!

Well, what nobody told me was that writers also have to pay the rent and keep the lights on. That’s when I set the idea of Barnes and Nobel book signings and long lines of adoring fans waiting overnight in the rain to scoop up my latest novel on the back burner. Hey, it’s not that I gave up on my dream, but no one wants to fight Big Earl for the least soggy box under the overpass. I became a freelance writer, picking up various jobs writing for websites, advertising companies, online magazines, and the occasional BDSM club. (Rent, remember?)

And along the way, I discovered something fascinating. I wasn’t stewing at the keyboard every day, sobbing into my latte about how I’d sold out and become something I was ashamed of. Instead, I was  having a great time. I was writing! And learning all kinds of various things, which is awesome for a word nerd. I picked up a job writing about lingerie and swimwear for a fabulous company. I learned how to write radio copy and heard my work on the air. I found out that leather chaps can chafe a little if you’re not careful…

At any rate, I’ve come to love my job as a freelancer, as it affords me the opportunity to explore and write about just about everything. Do I still yearn to see my name on a hardcover, clutched in the hands of a slightly rabid fan who secretly dreams of tying me up, Misery style because they can’t get enough? Of course. Which is why I’ve worked writing fiction back into my 3 year plan. But I’m not sure I’ll ever give up the freelance gig completely, because I’ve really grown to love the freedom it gives me to explore things I might never have written about otherwise.

Well, unless I fall into a soft patch and stumble across a winning lottery ticket worth a couple mil. Then you’ll find me on a private yacht, heading towards the Greek Isles as I dictate my memoir to a cute scribe with broad shoulders…

4 responses to “Writers Write!

  1. That was an excellent post today. Thanks so much for sharing it. I
    really enjoyed reading it very much. You have a wonderful day!

    Enjoy writing? Join Us Today –

    Writing Jobs – Writers Wanted

    • Thank you! I’ll be sure to check out your site! Always looking for new jobs =)

      • Easy Lifestyles has very useful resources. My friend told be about their website. We both signed up for the writing jobs and we both are very satisfied.

        Easy Lifestyles is a growing website and is gaining popularity across the internet. They are very trusted and secure. I’m a very satisfied customer.

  2. Can I just say what a relief to find someone who actually knows what theyre talking about on the internet. You definitely know how to bring an issue to light and make it important. More people need to read this and understand this side of the story. I cant believe youre not more popular because you definitely have the gift.

Leave a Reply

